Wednesday, July 31, 2013

Episode 44: Go. Be Wild And Free. Just Don't Be Me

Greetings Dear Listener,

The Bosnian Rainbows show a few weeks ago was amazing.  Teri Gender Bender can eat an audience alive.  The band was able to handle the awful sound in the venue without a problem.  Hopefully, she will reconvene Le Butcherettes in the near future.

Circumambulation from True Widow is officially out now.  If anyone cared what I would pick as album of the year, this would be it.  It lands between their previous record and their first in terms of accessibility and ease on the ears.

The two major Far releases are getting the vinyl treatment for the first time.  Tin Cans With Strings To You and Water & Solutions were released during that dark period known as the mid-90s where records were only released on CD.  The pre-order for both goes up on August 1st through Shop Radio Cast.

Here's where I got the VUM track for the episode:  VUM~I Will Return

The first installment of the Anti-Flag 20 Years Of Hell subscription series has arrived.  The reworked songs are certainly an improvement on the original versions.

The Gaslight Anthem fan club single finally came in the mail.  It took them almost a year to get it done but it was worth the wait.  The band finished a three night run in New York City and apparently there have been some issues with the crowds while touring.  Here's a link to a post from Brian Fallon:  Tonight You Have Broken My Heart.  Some people just don't know how to live in the moment.

There's a new Pussy Riot video that went up a few weeks ago.  It sounds like someone's been practicing.  It's called Like A Red Prison and here it is:

The second release of the Mind Cure Records series is out now as well.  Go here for more information:  Mind Cure Records.  Then go to the store and buy it.

Rise Against will be releasing a collection of b-sides called Long Forgotten Songs.  There are a few different pre-order packages available at Rise  It comes out on September 10th.

Nirvana's In Utero is getting the super deluxe 20th anniversary treatment.  There will be a few different versions released.  Hopefully they don't try to use the Steve Albini mixes as a selling point.  If you need a guy that can fuck up a record Steve Albini is your man.  The release date is set for September 24th as of now.

The Evens will be heading out for another short tour.  This time to the New England area.  Tour dates can be found here: Dischord.  If they'll be in your neck of the woods, do your ears a favor and go.

Here's the trailer for the final eight episodes of Breaking Bad.  All I have to say is, "Damn."  I can't wait.

Until next time.

Thanks for listening.


Here's the download link:

Out of Step Music Hour Episode 44

Here's the playlist:

1.  The Ramones~We Want The Airwaves~Pleasant Dreams
2.  Marnie Stern~Proof Of Life~The Chronicles Of Marnia
3.  XBXRX~Beat Rolls On~Sixth In Sixes
4.  All Dinosaurs~Sad Song~Rules Of Civility And Decent Behavior
5.  Iceage~Awake~You're Nothing
6.  Zeitgeist~Atone~Zeitgeist
7.  Far~Wear It So Well~Water & Solutions
8.  James Brown~Poppa's Got A Brand New Bag (Pt. 1)~20 All-Time Greatest Hits
9.  Adverts~No Time To Be 21~Crossing The Red Sea With The Adverts
10.  Bosnian Rainbows~Mother, Father, Set Us Free~Bosnian Rainbows
11.  True Widow~HW:R~Circumambulation
12.  Rollins Band~Volume 4~Weighting
13.  Garfunkel & Oates~Weed Card~All Over Your Face
14.  Tinariwen~Tahult In (My Salutation)~Imidiwan: Companions
15.  Buzzcocks~What Do I Get?~Another Music In A Different Kitchen
16.  VUM~I Will Return~I Will Return
17.  Roky Erickson~Don't Slander Me~I Have Always Been Here Before
18.  Joan Jett & The Blackhearts~Doing Alright With The Boys~Bad Reputation
19.  Louis CK~Taking Sexual Inventory~Hilarious
20.  Electric Wizard~Barbarian~Dopethrone
21.  Wire~Mr. Suit~Pink Flag
22.  Dead Kennedys~Nazi Punks-Fuck Off~Let Them Eat Jellybeans!
23.  Against Me!~FuckMyLife666~True Trans
24.  Misfits~TV Casualty~Box Set
25.  Mika Miko~Take It Serious~C.Y.S.L.A.B.F.

No comments:

Post a Comment